Quick Tastes of the Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA

The Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA is a staple beer for me. Its a beer that I can look to when I need to be refreshed, satisfied, entertained, perplexed, relaxed, or when I just need a good beer. Cause it’s always good – thats why its a staple for me. I am always in awe of how Dogfish is able to achieve such a perfect harmony and balance of rich malty flavors and pungent fresh hops. Its just remarkable.

The 90 minute IPA is the 60 Minute IPA‘s bigger brother, both utilizing a continuous happing method made famous by Dogfish Head. Rather than the brewer adding 1, 2 or even 3 larger hop additions during the brewing process (in the boil), Dogfish Head adds small amounds of the hops once a minute, every minute, and in the case of the 90 Minute IPA, for 90 minutes! This creates an IPA that is perfectly bitter, amazingly fresh, and potently aromatic all at once in a sublime and seemingly effortless fashion.

The 90 Minute IPA is not available at the LCBO unfortunately, however the 60 Minute is, which is the better approach in the first place if you have never had either of these beers. The 60 Minute has a betterness rating of 60 IBUs, and the 90 is 90 IBUs. So especially if you have not yet gained a rich love for hoppy beers, start with the 60, but when you find a 90 in the United States, grab a few and see where it takes you.

The 90 Minute IPA pours smoothly building a glowing oak colored transparent beer with a densely frothy large white head. Amber reds and golden browns streak through the beer and build rich aromas of fresh pine, citrus, grapefruit, earth and mellow pale malts. Its very clean and crisp on the nose, and reflects the mouthfeel and flavor perfectly.

The 90 will glide into your mouth with an easy and silky start quickly opening up a wave of fresh hop flavors followed by trickling carbonation and smooth malt warmth. This beer’s strength lies in its balance between malt and hop flavor, and how amazing they are together, and alone. The malt is gentle with caramel and wild barley flavors. The hops are fresh with citrus and resin defining its power, with a quenching and immaculately soothing end.

This is a superb beer, and will forever be among my favorites. Try it with anything off the grill, hot wings, roast beef, turkey, pub fare, fried foods, spicy dishes, sharp cheeses, oil based pastas and rich cheesecake.

3 Responses to Quick Tastes of the Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Stephen Rich, Stephen Rich. Stephen Rich said: A quick taste of the Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA reveals the truth… ITS AMAZING! http://wp.me/pNKWo-YD #beer #craftbeer […]

  2. Ok First off, I’ve been trying to find that freakin’ DogFishHead glass now for so damn long! May I ask where you found yours? 🙂

    On to the beer…

    I love the DogFishHead 90 min, and most will put it into the double IPA area than just an IPA. I have to say though, as much as I LOVE double ipa’s I still prefer their 60min IPA compared to their 90 min. It’s great, but something still feels lacking a bit. Especially when compared with many other double IPA’s like the Gubna from Oskar Blues, or the Hercules from Great Divide.

    What do you think about their 90 min when stacked against other double IPA’s?

    • The Dogfish Head Snifter is sooo awesome! I got very lucky in Buffalo, I was at Cole’s Pub for a Dogfish Head tasting event (amazing) so I was able to buy 4 glasses from Cole’s owner! Love those glasses. You can get them right from the Dogfish Site for only $7!!!

      I do love the 60 and the 90 minute, and I actually wrote an article about the two compared to each other – check it out. In a nutshell I do love both beers; and they do fit into the standard American IPA and Double IPA categories pretty perfectly. I think they each serve their own unique purpose. But I do love the 90 the most, and I think it represents Double IPAs very well. I haven’t has the Oscar Blues (we don’t get much US craft beer in Ontario) but what I like about the 90 more than many more powerful west-coast DIPA’s is that it is perfectly balanced between hop sensations, malt flavor, and milky southfeel. So many DIPAs, especially the west coasters, are sooo hop forward they just take over the beer. Now, I do love so many of these west coast beers, but in term of overall craftsmanship and enjoyment, I still love the 90. I will say though, the best DIPA I think I have ever had is the Rogue XS Imperial IPA… AMAZING

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

