The McAuslan St. Ambroise Russian Imperial Stout comes to Ontario… FINALLY!

McAuslan St. Ambroise Russian Imperial StoutIt must have been November of 2009 when I first heard that McAuslan planned to brew a Russian Imperial Stout, or perhaps, had already been brewing one. This is really great news for stout lovers. The St. Amboise Oatmeal Stout is already among the best Oatmeal stouts I have ever had (especially on tap), so I only expect a 9.1% abv Imperial Stout to be packed full of roast, chocolate, malt and creamy flavors! This Imperial Stout has been aged in Bourbon barrels and is hopped with Cascade, Goldings, and Williamette hops; so it should also have a nice woody vanilla background and a fresh burst of hops.

Today, as The Bar Towel promptly reported, the Russian Imperial Stout is now listed at the LCBO and is being distributed amongst several lucky locations. Unfortunately for me, by the time I walked to the closest location to me that had stock they were already gone. McAuslan is only making 9600 bottles, and the majority of them I expect will stay in Quebec. Trust me though, I will be keeping my eyes peeled for stock, and posting my thoughts on here right away, because I cannot wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

